‘Tis The Season

Today was the switching on of the Christmas lights in Kenilworth, and I swear it gets that bit more dull every year. This year all we did was walk up and down the town a couple of times, get ripped off with pricey glowsticks and hang around outside Waitrose. Oh, and I stroked an owl… if you know what I mean!

*wink*

…But seriously, that wasn’t a euphamism, I actually did stoke an owl. Two actually! And that was the highlight of my festive misadventures.

It’s the same every year and as you grow older, you just couldn’t care less about it anymore. As a little kid, all the bright lights, loud music and glowy things are brilliant! You buy some crap you don’t need and go on some severely overpriced rides and enjoy the hell out of it. Now, it’s just cold, crowded and miserable. The lights aren’t even very spectacular. Wait, let me reiterate… They aren’t spectacular WHATSOEVER! They’re like bad Christmas Tree lights.

Anyway, I guess it’s starting to feel a bit more Christmassy in some ways. The Coca-Cola advert has sort of made a return! During some adverts they played like a small section of it, and of course cause it’s amazing, I got really worked up! However they’ve only been showing snippets of the advert which sucks… the suspense is killing me! I mean, it’s not even that great an advert, just that it’s on EVERY YEAR, so naturally it rocks!

Christmas itself will be disappointing as usual of course. Coming out of childhood, you have to accept that Christmas will never again be as good as when you were young and got loads of massive plastic presents. Now it’s just another day with extra food and some stuff that you could have bought yourself. Now I may sound like a classic ‘Scrooge’, but after all Christmas really isn’t as good as all the hype suggests it should be.

Now to finish with a fitting pun I should say ‘Bah’… but that’s too clichĂ©d. So…

F*ck It!

Song: ‘Dashboard Confessional – Hands Down’

~ by Bagelfish on November 21, 2008.

Leave a comment